Log in

Advancing skill and scholarship since 1969

Institute Awards

Brandt F. Steele Award

The Brandt F. Steele, M.D. Award was established in 1997 by The Denver Institute for Psychoanalysis to honor Dr. Steel’s life-long intellectual curiosity and interest in early childhood development.

The recipients of the award are recognized for their outstanding accomplishments in the areas of teaching, research, and community service. Dr. Steele passed away on January 19, 2005 at the age of 97. A cash award of $500 accompanies this honor.

    • 1997 Brandt F. Steele, M.D.
    • 1998 Jill M. Miller, Ph.D.
    • 1999 Paula P Bernstein, Ph.D. and Michael G. Moran, M.D.
    • 2000 Laurence B. Hall, M.D. and David W. Stevens, Ph.D.
    • 2001 Mary Ann Levy, M.D. and E. Earlene Dal Pozzo, M.D.
    • 2002 Jacob Jacobson, M.D. and Leslie Jordan, Ph.D.
    • 2003 Robert Emde, M.D. and Mark Wolny, L.C.S.W.
    • 2004 David Hurst, M.D. and Steve Shulruff, M.D.
    • 2005 Richard Simons, M.D. and Theodore Gaensbauer, M.D.
    • 2006 Calvern Narcisi, M.D.
    • 2007 Rex H. McGehee, M.D. and Gary C. Martin, M.D.
    • 2008 I. Gene Schwarz, M.D.
    • 2009 Frederick W. Mimmack, M.D.
    • 2010 William E. Bernstein, M.D. and Samuel Wagonfeld, M.D.
    • 2011 Rhoda A. Singer, M.D.
    • 2012 Ronnie M. Shaw, APRN, BC
    • 2013 Anastasia C. Keller, M.D.
    • 2014 Cynthia Rose, M.D.
    • ​2015 Margy Stewart, Psy.D.
    • 2016 Roy Lowenstein, M.D. and Esther Lowenstein, Psy.D.
    • 2017 Geoffrey Heron, M.D. (posthumous)
    • 2018 Shoshana Adler, Ph.D.
    • 2019 Barbara Redinger, Ph.D.
    • 2020 Stacey Fry, Psy.D.
    • 2022 Tom Avery, LCSW

John D. Benjamin Award

The John D. Benjamin, M.D. Award was established by The Denver Institute for Psychoanalysis and the Denver Psychoanalytic Society to commemorate Dr. John D. Benjamin’s lifelong commitment to the advancement of child psychoanalysis and his pioneering interest in child development.

Dr. Benjamin was a psychiatrist at the University of Colorado School of Medicine from 1935 to 1965, and conducted pioneering research in child development in conjunction with the Department of Pediatrics.

This award is given to someone who has demonstrated a commitment to child development and the mental health needs of children. The recipient may be an Institute Faculty member, Society member, or a member of the psychoanalytic community. A cash award of $500 accompanies this honor.

    • 1999 Rochelle Dworet, M.D.
    • 2008 Ronnie M. Shaw, M.S., R.N., C.S./APRN, BC
    • 2020 Benjamin Green, M.D.

Robert Emde Award

The Robert Emde Scientific Advancement Award was established in 2005 in recognition of Dr. Robert Emde's outstanding accomplishments and commitment to the advancement of psychoanalysis as a science.

Award recipient must be a Faculty member, Candidate or Student of the Denver Institute for Psychoanalysis. A cash award of $500 accompanies this honor.

    • 2005 Robert N. Emde, M.D
    • 2016 Theodore Gaensbauer, M.D
    • 2020 Leslie Jordan, Ph.D.
    • 2022 Pamela Haglund, Psy.D.
    • 2024 Anastasia C. Keller, M.D

The Paula and William Bernstein Award for Excellence in Teaching & Supervision

The Paula and William Bernstein Award for Excellence in Teaching & Supervision was established in 2020 in recognition of Drs. William E. and Paula P. Bernstein's for their teaching, academic interests, supervision/consulting and devotion to analytic education.

This award is given to an Institute Faculty member who through their transmission of knowledge, devotion, and personal enrichment has made an impact on the Analytic Candidates learning experience. A cash award of $500 accompanies this honor.

    • 2020 William Bernstein, M.D. (posthumous)
    • 2022 Leslie Jordan, Ph.D. & Mike Moran, M.D.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software